After the match

Some team members believe we can have an “override” switch on the robot that will bring down an arm after the match under power. Is this the case?

What we usually did, and what i have seen other teams doing is: the use of the tether cable with ur OI. Its very easy. Plug the tether cable in and bring the arm down, plug the cable out. However, i would say that keep in mind that there are other teams waiting to setup for the next match. We usually lifted our robot out of the field, placed it on the floor, lowered the arm and then took it to the pits on our cart.

I think the rules say that the judges may allow you to use the tether to get your robot off of the field. But as someone said (or actually probably didnt say) “dont bet the farm on it”. And after the match radio communication is disabled, and if the RC cant connect to the OI all motor outputs will be disabled so it isnt possible. If I were you I would do like thoughtful said and plan on removing your robot from the field before using the tether, but if the judges will let you use it on the field then so much the better.

At first they might let you tether on the field, but after a while as the event moves more off schedule they will begin to start rushing the field reset process. This means that they will make you take your robot off the field before you have a chance to do anything so the next teams can set up. This was the way they did it last year and I’d imagine that they will do the same this year.

GO 1403!!!

From Section 4.3.4 of the manual:

ROBOTS must be designed to permit release and removal of any TETRAS from any grasping mechanism without requiring that the ROBOT be powered up after the match. At the discretion of the field manager, ROBOTS may be powered up and controlled via tether to collapse or reduce the height of the ROBOT to permit safe and/or rapid removal from the field and transport to the pits.

In my experience most field managers don’t have a problem with powering up the robot via tether to release a game object or bring in an arm. As long as the tether port is easy to get to, and it won’t take long to get the robot off the field, it’s usually alright.

Ok, let me restate the question, in a way that will directly address the problem:

We have a 10 foot arm, and we need power to get it down. Our team put a switch that is mounted out of the way of being hit in competition. It will skip the control board and power the arm right off the breaker board. Is this legal?

Hope that clears it up.

I don’t believe the robot controller will do anything at all without an established “link” with the operator interface. If your “link” is established by the arena controller, you will be disabled. If your link is established by just the OI, (no competition port) you will be breaking the rules. The only way to establish the link is by tether, in which case you may collapse the arm by your standard controls.

The switch was a good idea but I don’t think it is possible.

This is absolutely not legal, and cannot be used. This set up would be considered a custom circuit, and would be a violation of Rule <R53>:

Custom Circuits may not:
• Interfere with the operation of other robots
**• Directly affect any output devices on the robot, such as by providing power directly to a motor, **supplying a PWM signal to a speed controller or supplying a control signal to a relay module. (Custom high impedance voltage monitoring or low impedance current monitoring circuitry connected to the robot’s electrical system is acceptable, because the effect on the robot outputs should be inconsequential.)
• Be used for wireless communication, such as sending or receiving a signal to and/or from the alliance station
• Connect to the radio or tether ports on the Robot Controller

If you left this on and shipped the robot with this circuit installed, you will need to remove it when you get to the competition. If the inspectors spot it, they will not allow you on to the field with the circuit in place.