Allocation of PWM and GPIO Channels

We have a lot of motors and limit switches on this year’s robot. Is there any reason we cannot use (for example) PWM channels 1-8 and GPIO channels 1-8 from the same digital sidecar?

And if so, how do you address those channels in code?

We’re programming in C++. I’m not a programmer, but I understand that you have to specify a slot and a channel number for each signal. I’m just not sure how you differentiate between a PWM channel and a GPIO channel. Any help would be appreciated.

You can use all of the inputs without having to worry about conflicts. When you specify the slot and channel number (or if you are using the default slots just the channel number) the object you specify it for will tell whether it is a GPIO or a PWM.

Thanks for the reply. Glad there are no conflicts.

the object you specify it for will tell whether it is a GPIO or a PWM.

I’m still not sure how you differentiate between a GPIO and a PWM. Is there a separate “GPIO #” and “PWM #”?

The digital side card has 10 PWM ports for driving victors / jaguars. If you need more PWM ports you can add a second digital side card. If you have some low current motors (CIM or Fisher Price must be connected to a speed control) that run in an on/off fashion you can drive them with a spike according to <R54>.

edit: Also all the Spikes and Speed Controls must be connected to the designated port, you cannot drive them with GPIO.

If you open a Jaguar or Victor or Servo object, it will know that you intend to connect it to a PWM output. If you open a Encoder or switch or etc object, it will know that you intend to connect it to GPIO. If you open a relay object, it will know that you intend to connect it to a relay output.

You differentiate between them by choosing Digital I/O classes vs. PWM (Victor, Jaguar, Servo) classes. There are also separate Relay numbers, Analog numbers, and Solenoid numbers.