American company (Haas) accused of violating sanctions, doing business with Russian arms industry

7 Likes

Well this is embarrassing.

15 Likes

Not siding with any view point here, but I think it’s important to have all the facts before jumping to any conclusions. This story is lacking in some important details. All of the machines shown in the Russian factories in the video were not recent models. Many were quite old in fact, going back 10 years or more.

Just a hypothesis, but it’s quite possible that the shipments being referred to were sales that were made prior to any sanctions. I’m no expert on sanctions, but I’m wondering if prior orders could still be fulfilled and new orders were indeed stopped after the sanctions went into effect. It would not be out of the ordinary for a machine to be delivered up to one full year after ordering, given lead times these days.

In any case, there’s no denying that Haas and in particular the Gene Haas Foundation have made a significant positive impact in American technical and manufacturing education, and we all should be thankful of their support of FIRST Robotics. Stepping up to the plate to support programs like ours on the scale they do is something that many organizations and companies have had the chance to do, but very few have fully committed to at this scale.

11 Likes

Let’s not pretend that Gene and his company were squeaky clean before all this happened…

And it’s not all that surprising to see Haas doing a lot of business in Russia given that their F1 team’s livery is literally just the Russian flag and one of their title partners on the car is a Russian gas company.

26 Likes

Used to be. It’s not anymore. They dropped the sponsorship/livery when war happened. Still possible they have other connections though and dropping the sponsorship was a PR move.

16 Likes

Asking because I really don’t know, and there are people reading this forum who might: