Anderson Powerpole & FTC

Hello Everyone. I am a rookie FTC coach and this is my first post in ChiefDelphi.

In reading this forum and team sites, it seems that many problems with the robots are traceable to poor electrical power connections. Mainly, it appears there are potential shorts when connecting all the various components directly to the controllers and there are also problems when having to change out components quickly.

I have been researching the Anderson Powerpole products.

I am considering getting the Anderson Powerpole RIGRunner 4005H Horizontal Starter Kit and their TRIcrimp crimping tool (another source of problems appears to be poor quality crimps).

1. Are Anderson Powerpole connectors and the RIGRunner power distribution blocks permitted for FTC 2013-14?
  2. If so, which amperage connectors should I use? 30A or 40A?
  3. Can I replace the Molex connectors on the battery pack and charger with Anderson Powerpoles?

I think the answers are yes, yes, and yes. However, I’ve read enough to know FIRST Robotics is a bit like Animal Farm; i.e., anything not expressly permitted is forbidden and since i’m a new pig I’m proceeding cautiously. :slight_smile:

Many thanks for your help and providing such a wonderful resource!

First, let me be the first to welcome you to Chief Delphi!

As with any post like this, I would highly encourage you to re-read the rules for the game. Rules are easy to overlook, and it’s always best to confirm it through the manual.

To answer your questions, in order:

1: Anderson Powerpole connectors are permitted per rule R08 Section Q. I am not exactly sure about the RIGRunner kit, as it seems like it would fit as a power distribution splitter.
2: I would think that the 30A would be good enough
3: This is permitted by R08 Section X

Thank you Cecil!

I am particularly concerned about the electrical system stability because we only have one of everything and if something gets shorted out or zapped we’re done for the year.