another newbie

I know you hate to see this another dum newbie.
I am very interested learning to do simple programs. I have a back ground in motor controls with some PLC logic. I have some simple programs that I would like to do to replace relay logic. looking at the microchip flash starter kit
for 8 and 14 pin chips. Is this a place that I can get some help. if not then I will just go away. :confused:

We never hate to see another “dum” newbie. We all practice gracious professionalism to its fullest extent on these boards. Anyway, I am no programmer but these boards deal with the FIRST robotics competition which uses the C programming language. A good amount of PBASIC help may be available as well. Chances are someone here will know the answers to your questions, but that person is not me.

Hey! Glad to see you’re interested. Are you in FIRST (just curious)? Regardless, here are my reccomendations:

(1) If you don’t know anything about programming, you shouldn’t start with embedded (embedded meaning low level circuit-y stuff) projects. Start with BASIC on a PC or perhaps html and javascript.

(2) If you DO know something about programming, but nothing about embedded programming you have two routes.

(2.1) Take the hard (but really cheap) road and start out with PIC microcontrollers.

(2.2) Get a BASIC Stamp from parrallax

IM me with questions: etherkill :wink:

I must disagree with Phrontist on point (1). If you are unfamiliar with programming, do not start with BASIC or web scripting. Start with a good book focusing on fundamentals and take a look at something like C++ or Java. Of cousre, if you are the type that loses interest easily and can’t live without quick results, Phrontist is right.

I definately wouldn’t suggest C++ as a starter language, I’d say Java or Python.

They’re actually very similar and for a new comer, I think, equally easy to learn. Personaly opinion, of course.