G3. During AUTO, no defense. During AUTO, a ROBOT’s BUMPERS may not break the plane of their ALLIANCE’s SECTOR (see Figure 3‑3.)
Violation: FOUL. If contact with an opponent ROBOT, either directly or transitively through another ROBOT or POWER CELL, TECH FOUL per instance.
Q: Is it OK for a robot to pass into/thru the RENDEZVOUS POINT area during AUTO, and is it a violation if there is incidental contact with an opponent’s robot?
A: There are no rules prohibiting ROBOTS from entering the RENDEZVOUS POINT during AUTO or contacting other ROBOTS within the RENDEZVOUS POINT during AUTO.
What surprises me is the lack of a foul for contact, during auto, as long as you don’t break the plane of the initiation line and the sector. The question is about the rendezvous point, but I’m extrapolating here. While it makes sense that you’d be able to cross over to get the power-cells in your trench or even risk trying for the power-cells on your starting side in the opponent’s trench, it seems like going for the PCs on your opponent’s side of the rendezvous point or even into the neutral area and creating a little bumper-thumping mayhem is allowed?
The title of G3 implies there should be no defense and the wording of the tech foul violation would seem under ‘common sense reading’ to indicate that any contact might result in a violation.
Anyone else surprised by this, think we need further clarification or considering taking advantage of this? Perhaps the possibility of other robot-to-robot contact violations occurring during auto would be a major deterrent, but I’m surprised.