Answers...Answers...

Posted by Al Skierkiewicz at 04/28/2001 6:11 PM EST

Engineer on team #111, Wildstang, from Wheeling High & Rolling Meadows High and Motorola.

Hi All,
I have been reading with interest many of the posts about the game, the strategy, the teams, robot design and Robotica so here are my thoughts.

1. National television coverage is essential for FIRST growth. If the statistics on Robotica are correct, then TV coverage is a proven winner. (As a broadcast engineer I can assure you this is true!) However, be very careful when comparing “us and them”. When looking at a non FIRST team, there may be an average of 3 people (1 or 2 students) per team compared to the number of students served through FIRST. Compare 525 teams (340 at Nationals) with an average 20 students per team, our numbers are reaching and teaching far more students. No contest on the education of our team members, either.

2. If FIRST ideals insist that the education and guidance of students is foremost than the game and how it is played is a far distant second.

3. Since we all play under the same rules with essentially the same parts, the competition is far more balanced than other robot competitions. Yes some teams still have an advantage over others, especially rookies, but we were all rookies once and I can’t think of any way to level that part of the competition. It is not impossible for young teams with little resources to succeed, look at all the rookie all-stars and the young teams who placed high at regionals and nationals. I for one think that divisions that will seperate teams into classes neither allows young teams to learn from those more experienced or for experienced teams to be challenged by the new ideas the rookies bring to the competition.