Are you considered in the homestretch if?

I don’t if this has been ask yet, but it applies to the <g36> rule.
Are you considered in the opponent’s home stretch if you attempt to descore after your robot has cross there finish line but your arm or what ever mechanism you use is used to descore the trackball extends in the opponents homestretch?

Do you mean that your arm stayed in the home stretch, or if you extend your arm into their home stretch after crossing?

In case 1, you’re considered in the home stretch, and that you haven’t crossed, in case 2, you’ll be penalized for moving clockwise.

I think you’ve got it right here.

You’re considered worth a 10-point penalty for breaking the plane of the line the wrong way. I’d say there’s a good chance you also go above 6’ and get penalized that way. (And there is already considerable debate about that rule. If you are wondering, the “search tool” is in the orange bar.)

i think should repharse this question.
I meant if you wanted to descore your opponents trackball backwards with a mechanism, after passing there homestretch would it be legal?..OR would that be considered breaking that 6’ in there homestretch?

and your motion is still counter clockwise

You might as well break the 6’ rule, because you’ll be penalized all the same for moving a part of your robot through a line you already crossed.

This is to all the posts about violating the counter clockwise rule.

My Team and I believe that it is okay to move clockwise as long as you stay in the same quadrant. Were saying it is still illegal to move back over a line marker but that if you need to move clockwise to get a ball, it is alright to do so as long as you stay in the same quadrant.:yikes:

If I’m wrong please let me know, but that doesn’t seem to violate any rules.:confused:

What he’s talking about is passing the opponent finish line, then using a robot arm to reach and knock off a ball off the overpass, which means the robot arm goes into the opponent home stretch and constitutes moving clockwise, and therefore he will be penalized, possibly twice.

well the rule states that you cannot break the plane of the line, and although you are moving in a counter clockwise direction you arm will break the plane of the line in a clockwise direction therefore breaking the rule

and if your arm doesn’t get all the way over the line you are still in the homezone.

yes as soon as you break that plane you have entered the home zone = 10 point penelty

i agree, as long as you stay in the same quadrant then you are fine.

yes you would be penalized twice once for the clock-wise line break and second for being over 6’ in the opponents home zone.

I keep seeing people saying that knocking the ball backward after crossing the finish line will be a 10 pt. penalty for moving clockwise. Someone correct me if I’m wrong, but aren’t we putting a 40 " diameter ball in a 32" diameter hole? Doesn’t that give you 4 " to work with? This would be twice the vertical distance that could be worked with if the robot is in the opponent’s home stretch.

You don’t have a full four inches because the pipes are not infinitely thin. You actually have about 3". Now, you have to move this ball off of that rack somehow WITHOUT breaking the plane of the line. If you can do that, more power to you; otherwise, you get a penalty.

The actual space is dependent on the location of the pipe with relation to the finish line. If the center of the pipe is aligned with the finish line you have the full 4".

Your estimation of 3" however, would likely be a far more appropriate one to design to.

Either way it is greater than the 2" of vertical room you have if you are in their homestretch that never seems to have the “automatic penalty” connotation associated with it.

From what I am reading, it seems that the disscussion is of descoring an opposing trackball…
The best way to prevent that is to play some simple defence in a quadrant to prevent the robot from ever having the opourtunity to put it there.
If disloging becomes neccessary, then it can be done in the quadrant next to the opposing home stretch, as long as your robot doesnt cross the plane. (The ball will stick out some for you. For the actual distances, see someone’s mathematical deductions elsewhere on the site.)

It’s how to retrieve yours (or descore theirs).

And if you play defense, you can get penalized for impeding.

What if the arm part of the robot never crosses the line, but the base of the robot is clearly across the line. Would rule G36 still apply? The arm wouldn’t go “backwards” across the line, would the robot still be considered as in their home zone?

The whole idea is to knock the Trackball towards the alliances Home Stretch. If the condition in G07 has been met, that is, the trackball has not been scored since it’s last time around the track, if you knock it off (I say knock because you can not possess it) in a counter-clockwise direction, you would be hurdling for your opponent.

Knocking it clockwise would take 12 points off your opponents score.

Knocking it counter-clockwise, would take 12 points off your opponents score, however, it could give them 8 points for a net loss of 4 points to them. Unless you can find a way to have it touch your robot before it hits the floor or another robot after you knock it off.

Analysis assumes two things. 1) the Trackball would stay there until the end of the match. 2) the Trackball is on the opposing alliances overpass.

See the definition of “crossing”. What you’re talking about would be a penalty for breaking the height restriction.