Arm Position Control

Our team has a motor driven arm mechanism that rotates around an axis and has a potentiometer for feedback.

The arm is fairly heavy and unbalanced, and it’s range of motion is significant (180deg, give or take a bit). Since the torque required to counteract gravity varies with the angle of the arm, it seems like the simplest form of PID control is not appropriate (ie: directly driving the motor from the PID constants and potentiometer input).

I’ve kicked around a few different ideas, but I’m not experienced enough with controls to know a good solution when I see one. All of my ideas hinge on the idea that the torque needed to counter-act gravity at a given angle is the cosine of the angle multiplied by the torque required at 0deg (please correct me if this is wrong :] )

So here are the different approaches I have considered:

1. Multiplying the output of a PID loop tuned for the 0deg position before it is sent to the motor. Either
    motor_output = PID_output * cos(theta) //working against gravity
    motor_output = PID_output - (PID_output * cos(theta)) //when assisted by gravity
    (We will likely have special cases to handle angles close to 90deg when the setpoint is not 90deg, these can be ignored)

2. Using the feed-forward (F) term of the PID loop, where the reference F(0deg) is the force required to maintain a position of 0deg, and constantly updating the F term based on the current position (or possibly target position):
    F = F(0deg) * cos(theta) //Different PID values would remain unchanged with angle

3. Use discrete sets of PID constants at different angles, each tuned for operating within a particular range of the full swing of the arm, for each direction, and each load requirement.

Which of these approaches makes the most sense? Is there a better method that I haven’t thought of?

I’ve implemented case 1 (but cannot test yet), although I’m beginning to consider case 2 after learning how the F term is used.