Arriving perpendicular using limelight

So I’m not a programmer, but my students are working with the limelight on our Deep Space robot and have now used it to arrive at the cargo ship, but depending on the starting position they arrive not perpendicular to the target. It seems like there needs to be another loop to control that.

I scanned through the limelight documentation, which they followed, but I didn’t seem to find anything on this topic. Can someone point me, well my students, in the right direction?:slight_smile:

You can use the 3D pose estimation feature (forgot the exact name) to get the position of your robot relative to the vision target. Then, you can project a point out from target to, say, 5 ft in front of it. if you drive to that point and then align to the target, you’ll be (theoretically) pointing perpendicular. Lots of better ways to do that with motion profiling and the like, but that’s a basic way.

By not perpendicular do you mean that you are still angled when you finish your auto align?

@RishabRao That is correct, an axis perpendicular to the camera passes through the center point between the two vision targets, but the hatch panel plane is not parallel to the vision target plane. The gap between the robot and the cargo ship is wedged shaped.

So it seems like there is another constraint required. I have not investigated the 3D pose estimation feature suggested by @solomondg. I’ll do that.

@solomondg do you know where the ‘pose’ feature is documented? I have to say I looked again and didn’t find much. There is a section in the documentation referring to ‘3D’ but it is threadbare. Still looking for a pointer to more information on this topic.

it should be called compute3D or “Solve 3D”. there’s not a lot of documentation because it’s largely plug and play

It’s also currently in beta last time I checked so it might not be fully functional