Assembly Language FRC Robots????

How likely will this language become easily usable/debuggable to program FRC robots in the future?::rtm::

I doubt it ever will.

But the real question is why you would want to use a lower level language like assembly over a high level language like C++ or Java?

There are certain programming techniques that I like to do in a Low Level environment that I feel like the Higher Level stuff would not done better, even in the cRIO’s processor’s environment.

I do like the High Level languages too, but does anyone think there could be some sort of preview/tutorial of Low Level programming other teams could introduce to their programmers? Just saying, if this would easily bring students into programming-related careers that WILL use Assembly Language. ::safety::::safety:: :eek: ::ouch::

It’s highly unlikely that it will ever be available for FRC. It would be a fantastic challenge though. Sign me up.

Take it from me, I’ve been a low level assembly programmer and systems engineer for over 30 yrs. I’d prefer it hands down, but it’s not practical in today’s world. While assemble code(even badly written assemble code) will always out perform any OOP language it is not the trend of software engineering. Lower memory requirements, lower disk requirements, lower processor requirement.

I write in assembly because my company’s business requires that high performance, low resource utilization. Many of my programs execute millions of times a day, that simply can’t be done with OOP.

Although I certainly would love to see the challenge of writing code fort this years game on a system with 16K of RAM instead of Megabytes of even Gigabytes of RAM, or even less. Then do it on a slow 40Mhz not Gigahertz processor.

Perhaps having a running, modern-day-built robot with its cRIO hardware performance emulated to “1960’s-1970’s computer hardware” could be **:smiley: The Game:D ** itself…