I’m wondering if it would be legal to grasp an allied robot in order to help right them after tipping? For example, using a claw on your own robot to grab the bumper or frame of the tipped robot.
<G48> Strategies aimed at the destruction, attachment, damage, tipping or entanglement of ROBOTS, MINIBOTS, or HOSTBOTS are not in the spirit of the FRC and are not allowed. Contact with another ROBOT or HOSTBOT inside it’s FRAME PERIMETER is not allowed. Violation: PENALTY, plus potential disablement and YELLOW CARD
This could be considered a strategy aimed to attach/entangle with a robot. It seems clear they do not allow penetrating the frame perimeter of a robot, so perhaps that is out, but what about grasping the bumpers of a robot, or a piece of the robot that extends beyond the frame perimeter?
ROBOTS place mechanisms outside of the BUMPER
PERIMETER at their own risk; no penalties will be assigned for incidental contact with such extended mechanisms
The rules do seem to consider the possibility of helping a teammate:
[quote] <G51> Fallen (i.e. tipped over) ROBOTS attempting to right themselves (either by themselves or with assistance from an ALLIANCE partner) /QUOTE/
but they do not specify acceptable methods of helping a teammate.
From my experience last year, it is always acceptable to help out your teammate to right themselves.
To show proof, the rule you quote actually clarifies this:
<G51> Fallen (i.e. tipped over) ROBOTS attempting to right themselves (either by themselves or with assistance from an ALLIANCE partner) have one 10-second grace period per fallen ROBOT in which they may not be contacted by an opposing ROBOT. This protection continues for either 10 seconds or when the
they rule specifies that opposing robots are not allowed to touch the downed robot. This implies and does not limit an alliance member from assisting.
Also, In <G48>, read the part about “are not in the spirit of the FRC and are not allowed.” This rule is about trying to impede other robots, not assist them. In fact, helping other robots is in the full spirit of FRC, which goes contrary to rule <G48>
So yes, you can assist a member to right them self.
Fouls and penalties are always charged when you do something against an opponent, not a teammate. For example, you wouldn’t be charged with pinning your teammate’s robot.
But you would probably get yelled at.
Mentor Match IRI 2006, Dave Campbell driving, was called for pinning against our teammate.
That situation calls for the point-and-laugh a la Nelson Muntz response.