Attending a regionals as an overseas team

As a student in the States about to depart for a school in a foreign country, how would I go about changing an already-existing team abroad to a team that is eligible for attending a regional in the States next year if funding is not too big of an issue for the team in question? What would my coach have to do to register for a regional event, would the process be different from registering as a US team? What kind of visas would the team have to apply for? Could we choose which regional (e.g. NYC, LA, etc.) we would be participating in? How far in advance would we have to prepare before the event?

While I do not have much general knowledge of FRC team management as a freshman, I would greatly appreciate any and all information on this matter, as I am willing to do whatever it takes to have another FRC experience, and preferably not have my rookie season be my last.

4 Likes

I will yield to others on the actual travel logistics, but to answer the part I do know:

As long as the team doesn’t reside in an existing district (which outside the US would be Ontario and Israel), they can sign up for any regional anywhere. US, Canada, Brazil, Türkiye, Australia, world’s your oyster.

They’d register through the FIRST Dashboard just like a U.S. team would. Some of the youth protection requirements may be different depending on the country. That also means they’ll be paying a bill in US dollars.

And one thing you didn’t ask: Check out the FIRST Tech Challenge scene in your destination. Because of the lower barriers to entry, it’s flourished in some countries that would struggle to maintain an FRC program.

3 Likes