Looking through the game manual, I came across a section that seems to explain that we may only carry one singular boulder at any given time. No more than that.
3.4.9 BOULDER Rules
G38 ROBOTS may not control more than one (1) BOULDER at any time.
Violation: FOUL per extra BOULDER
Moving or positioning a BOULDER to gain advantage is considered
“control.”
Examples include, but are not limited to:
A. “carrying” (holding BOULDERS inside a ROBOT)
So I suppose that means autoloaders/magazines that can hold more than one boulder for a launch system are out of the question?
MSOSDev:
Looking through the game manual, I came across a section that seems to explain that we may only carry one singular boulder at any given time. No more than that.
3.4.9 BOULDER Rules
G38 ROBOTS may not control more than one (1) BOULDER at any time.
Violation: FOUL per extra BOULDER
2016 FIRST ROBOTICS COMPETITION || GAME MANUAL || Section — 3 Game || V0 || PAGE 14
© 2015-2016 FIRST®
All rights reserved.
Moving or positioning a BOULDER to gain advantage is considered
“control.”
Examples include, but are not limited to:
A. “carrying” (holding BOULDERS inside a ROBOT)
B. “herding” (intentionally pushing or impelling BOULDERS to a desired
location or direction)
C.“trapping” (holding one or more BOULDERS against a FIELD element
in an attempt to shield or guard them)
D. “launching” (shooting BOULDERS into the air or throwing in a forceful
way)
Examples of interaction with BOULDERS that are not “control” include,
but are not limited to:
A. “bulldozing” (inadvertent contact with BOULDERS while in the path of
the ROBOT moving about the FIELD)
B. “deflecting” (being hit by a BOULDER that bounces into or off of a
ROBOT).
If a BOULDER becomes lodged in or on a ROBOT, it will be considered
controlled by the ROBOT. It is important to design your ROBOT so that
it is impossible to inadvertently or unintentionally control more than the
allowed maximum.
So I suppose that means autoloaders/magazines that can hold more than one boulder for a launch system are out of the question?
Well you can only possess one boulder so yea it wouldn’t be possible
Yep. The rules have a really broad definition of “control”, including carrying, herding, trapping, or launching.
MasterEric:
Yep. The rules have a really broad definition of “control”, including carrying, herding, trapping, or launching.
Its the same definition of “control” that was given for Aerial Assist.