Autonomous Start Delay

We have been over the code about a dozen times… but we can’t seem to figure out why our autonomous mode waits about 3 seconds before moving. Most robots are 1/4 way through the field by the time we start moving, and this is allowing the human play to score 2 -4 balls before we can get out of striking distance. I am not a programmer, but posting this question for the team!!!

It would really be something with the code, and ultimately you might have to end up posting the code,

but my best guess is that if you have a lot of sensor initializing, then if your program waits for sensors to stablize, ie an accelerometer, or gyro, or something, then it might take a sec, or seconds. But that’s my two cents.

I will get you the code shortly, it’s more of an issue to pull it off of our server…

Thanks for the quick response though…

Sunny’s right - it could be sensors. Specific sensors like the gyro, need time to initialize, whilst others do not. I can’t exactly remember how much time is recommended for the gyro to initialize, but I don’t think three seconds would be it - sounds too long.

Also, the mass amount of stuff to initialize could be it. If you are using a lot of motors, sensors, servos, or anything else - it could take a long time for the cRIO to create them all and initialize them all. I haven’t seen this in experience with teleoperated, though I’m not sure about autonomous - we haven’t exactly thought about that yet.

Another thing it could be if a student has placed a wait sub-vi in the autonomous initialize block (assuming they use LabView). If one is there, it literally pauses the entire program, while waiting for the time to pass. Its not exactly a possibility that it could happen, but it is a cause.

Hope this helps.

-Tanner

Just so that programmers are on the same page, can we know what programming language you’re using?