Becoming a teacher

I’m currently an undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student, and I was just kind of wondering, what does a person have to do to get into the world of teaching?

I’m majoring in Drafting and Design technology. And I am also interested in becoming a teacher especially in the Career and Tech.

I spent a semester (well, a year on paper) as an elementary education major. At least in South Carolina, the procedure depends on whether you want to teach at elementary or secondary schools. Elementary-level teachers generally major in elementary education, while on the secondary level you major in the subject you wish to teach, then minor in education. (This is generally followed by getting a Master’s degree in education.)

However, check with your particular college to see what it would take.

This information maybe completely irrelevant but i remember it from a college meeting i went to. In South Carlonia the teahcer requirement for getting some offical paper are easier (less collge time or something) that other states. But some agreement allows you to use that in other states (Virginia is one i know). So look into that. It allows you to get your teachering license i beilive easier in one state but use it in another. Sorry if this isnt helpful at all.

From Wikipedia: