Behind the Scenes With NASA's Lucy Mission

1619 mentor and long-time FIRST Supporter, Cathy Olkin, forwarded me this awesome opportunity to take a behind the scenes look into an upcoming NASA Mission. Take advantage of this rare chance to get a glimpse of some real space science and engineering in action by registering at the link below:

NASA’s Lucy Mission invites middle and high school students behind the scenes for a live, virtual tour inside Lockheed Martin’s thermal vacuum chamber to see how the spacecraft is put to the test here on Earth.

Twelve years, eight asteroids, one spacecraft. The Lucy Mission is set to launch this fall on an epic journey to survey the Trojan asteroids. The spacecraft will travel over 4 billion miles through the harsh environment of deep space and must demonstrate that it is up to the task. The Lucy team is busy testing every aspect to ensure mission success.

What: Participants in this unique event will connect directly with scientists and engineers behind the mission and get an up-close look at the testing chamber and the Lucy spacecraft before it leaves on its epic journey. A live Q&A session will offer students the opportunity to ask their own questions to the Lucy Mission experts.

Who: Middle and high school students. After school and out-of-school groups are encouraged to register together or share the registration link below with their members.

When: May 13, 2021 at 5pm (Pacific)/6pm (Mountain)/7pm (Central)/8pm (Eastern)

Register for free here: http://lucy.swri.edu/behind-the-scenes

12 Likes