Bent Robot Frame Messing with PathWeaver

Hi,
This is my first time using pathweaver, so forgive me if my question is kinda stupid.

Basically, our robot frame got bent the other day while doing a climbing test, and our climber malfunctioned. The gear ratio is 125:1 on a neo so it packed some serious punch, and it ended up screwing up the right side of our frame, such that it’s bent enough that our robot drifts off course when driving straight by a decent margin. We’re currently trying to fix it, but fixing the hardware issue probably won’t be amazing. While this should be fine in TeleOp due to drivers being able to account for it, I’m very worried over autonomous.

Due to this bend, I’d assume the robot’s ability to follow paths would most definitely be impaired, and I don’t know how accurate it’d be just using encoders and a gyro. Is this concern justified? If so, how can we adjust for it?

An idea I had would be to utilize a limelight to better correct for the odometry stuff, but I don’t know the first place as to how to do this. I could read through some other teams’ source code in order to pull this off, but given how different code structure can be, I’m a bit hesitant to scrape through codebases. Is there a tutorial or something someone could recommend?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I may not be a programmer, but can I see the damage?

1 Like

you might benefit from the pose estimators released this year. just crank up that std deviation lol WPILib Pose Estimators — FIRST Robotics Competition documentation

1 Like

Once I get to robotics today, I’ll record a short video demonstrating it. We used a square across the back corners, and it got pretty clear when it started wobbling like crazy on one side.