Best CAD Computer

I am currently looking to update all of our computers for CAD and was wondering what the best computer to get is. I was looking at a Lenovo Ideapad 320 15 Touchscreen Laptop - Intel Core i7. Is this a good computer for CAD? I really want something with enough storage to run Solidworks and some 3D printing software. I am fairly new to CAD, so please let me know if you have a better suggestion. Thanks

What’s your budget? I’m not sure if the IdeaPad 320 has enough RAM to handle Solidworks.

I would recommend a quadro k620 with a cpu that has good single threaded preformace, you should also have an ssd and Atleast 8 gb of ram.

You generally need the following for a CAD computer:

• High quality CPU (2-4 cores)
  • Solid-state drive (most robot assemblies can be really big, ours came out at 150MB in a STEP)
  • 8GB+ RAM
  • Some form of graphics - Integrated graphics work, but a GPU is recommended.

Graphics processors are much less important than CPU for SolidWorks, since it’s a single-threaded application. We use older-generation laptops (mostly ThinkPads) that are donated to us by corporate sponsors who don’t need them any more. The school teaches CAD using Dell Precisions, which are also pretty good for it.

Depending on your application, a desktop system might be better. There are lots of good pre-built options, but building a few desktop PCs might be a fun project for your team. I CAD on my laptop, but almost whenever I design, I use a second monitor because a laptop screen, in my opinion, no laptop screen is big enough for a CAD window and a window of anything else. I use this USB-powered second monitor and it works great! Plus, it gives me a place to put all the VexPro/AndyMark/McMaster browser tabs and Excel spreadsheets that inevitably you need when doing design work. Certainly if I had the space to set up a nice desktop I would but I am in college and need to be portable.