Best FIRST-Related Advice Ever Received?

Whether it’s something small like how to comment code, or something large like how to present to a potential sponsor, we’ve all received some great FIRST-related advice at some point!

What’s the most valuable advice you’ve learned through FIRST?

I’ll start: measure twice, cut once!

1 Like

Dont mentor in college, volunteer instead.

Not so much first related, but one Kevin Ross would always remind us of back when I was a student:

"Its okay to choose a college major… but for god’s sakes if you get there and dont like your major, change it.

10 Likes

You don’t need a complex robot to win an event. You need a robot that your team can build, which can play the parts of the game that matter, and that you can drive well.

9 Likes

Single DOF arm goes brrrrrr.

yes, this is also my piece of advice.

11 Likes

Keep it simple, silly.

4 Likes

If you’re more than one “should” deep in a design, you’re in trouble. Prototype it, test it, and confirm it.

7 Likes

Not received from a person, but reality and experience has told me:

• If you can’t control it reasonably well manually, software probably won’t help. Software can’t fix bad mechanisms.
3 Likes

Ignore the age requirement

3 Likes

I’m really glad I didn’t take that advice.

“Don’t vomit into the mic, just talk” - @Taylor

Also much of what Simon Sinek has to say.

3 Likes

Advice I continue to ignore no matter how many times I’m given it…

3 Likes

I regret ignoring it.

1 Like

Be consistent in whatever your robot does. Inconsistency will not get you noticed.

1 Like

I don’t.