Best FRC Driving of All Time

I’m in the process of creating a composite grouping of some examples of the best FRC driving in the history of FRC. As an aspiring driver, I am trying to learn strategies and maneuvers from the best, and haven’t been around the FIRST scheme long enough to know much outside of Stronghold and Steamworks.

I am fairly confident that Cheesy Poofs 2014 is high on that list, along with OP Robotics in 2017, however, I am looking for outside opinions.

What year of what team do you think has the best drivers in all of FRC history?

0 Likes

This thread from earlier this month has a bunch of videos of good driving. Might not be the best driving ever (that’s pretty objective anyway) but it should help.

0 Likes

27, in particular in 2014 and 2017, has some fantastic driving. I’ll surely think of others but they came to mind quickly.

0 Likes

I was thoroughly impressed by 2767 and 254’s driving on Einstein this year (along with others on my team). Stryke Force’s driver seemed born to drive that swerve, and the Cheesy Poofs seemed to drive just as smoothly with a WCD. There’s a reason they hold both the 2017 qualifications and the 2017 eliminations high score together (un-penalized).

0 Likes

2767 2017
987 2013
973 Offseason 2013
330 2016
Everyone on the field in this match.
1503 2011

All examples of excellent pathing. IMO one mark of a good driver is the ability to see 3 steps ahead and react before your opponents can.

0 Likes

3310 in Einstein match 2 2017 St Louis.

0 Likes

Team 1732’s 9 gear match (at a regional) - our driver was really good that round.

Gopro footage: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzUUgN3fV8Y

0 Likes

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hI36OEsEeRM

I could watch this video for hours

0 Likes