Best FRC Game?

What was everyone’s favorite game of FRC even if you didn’t play in it? Mine’s Steamworks even though my team didn’t start till 2018 and my first year in FRC was 2022. Steamworks would be my personal favorite just because of how many different things there were to do and how many teams had different specialties like 254 was really good at shooting and 2767 and 862 were great at gears. (yes I have only seen that alliance’s matches, but it still looks like a great game.)

3 Likes

Ultimate Ascent is mine - it just looks so sick!

11 Likes

I absolutely loved Power Up, it was such a simple game with so many unique solutions to the challenge.

19 Likes

From what I’ve seen that would definitely be my 2nd or 3rd favorite (mostly because frisbees, but whatever)

1 Like

7 Likes

I really enjoyed 2016 Stronghold, the aspect of random field elements was pretty cool. At the time I was a student on the team and I had helped my dad build some of the field elements which was also memorable.

We had a massive cannon that ended up not really working, except for that time where we flipped over and were able to right ourselves.

8 Likes

In a poll recently: 2022, 2014, and 2013 were the top 3.

My top 3 are:

1. 2022 - I actually got to compete in this one, and it was my team’s best year. The low skill floor and high skill ceiling made it a cool game at all levels.
  2. 2018 - the big field elements make for a very cool audience view as you can see the advantage shifting from one alliance to another.
  3. 2013 - frisbees are a cool game piece and the pyramid climb is a cool endgame (“hang from a bar” endgames are lame).
4 Likes

right when I read this I was like ahhh they were on 95

2 Likes

I really liked Steamworks, definitely one of the most unique game pieces imho. Unfortunately I wasn’t directly working with a team that year, but I helped 3946 re-program their Steamworks bot that following summer as part of a programming bootcamp I ran.