Best USB Camera for a Rookie Team

Hi Everyone!

I am a programmer on rookie team 5822 WolfByte. We are looking to order a camera or two for our robot.

We are not planning to use GRIP or another type or vision processing because we feel we do not have enough time to figure it out. Because of vision obstruction on the field, we are looking to use a camera to help our drivers see where they are going. We currently are using a Logitech C270 camera and are looking for something with a wider range of vision. What would you suggest?

Thanks for the help!
Greta

Virtually every out there uses a Microsoft life cam 3000. If you need to buy more, the specs of that are far better than what your bandwidth is. If you need a wide angle camera, I would just find a good lens to put over the camera.

Our Microsoft life cam 3000 worked fine during development but largely would not work at 2 regionals when we were on the field. We were eventually told by the FTA that there is a known incompatibility between it and the field management system (FMS). I can’t remember if it was java related but we do program in Java. We are using it for human vision (not robot targeting). We had to go out Thursday night of a regional and buy the only Network Camera in stock (a dlink) but had numerous issues again on the field and last I heard we got it going somewhat. It would not work in IE or Chrome. Again I believe FMS + Java were involved in the problem.

We also used the Lifecam 3000 and Java on the official FMS with no problems. Our FTA did not mention anything about it. We even used two cameras with code to switch between the two, no problems.

We are using the Microsoft life cam 3000 and it is working well for us.

Any suggestions on how we could rig up a wide angle lens for it?

We make a lot of use of the smart dashboard. Do you use it ?

Twice we were out on the field at lunch time with FTAs trying to get the camera to work. They said there was a known incompatibility.