Black and white image files into AutoCAD?

Hi. I’m one of the bot designers on Team 1489… Now that the season is done, I started playing around with Inventor for some of my own projects, and I’ve run into a roadblock.

I’m trying to create a pattern for a CNC to cut into a panel of aluminum - As I understand it, there are ways to give it a black and white BMP, and it will be able to tell when to cut out - However, I need a precise size hole next to some artsy stuff that would be… basically impossible to manually add to CAD. Theres no way the get the precise hole the right size in Photoshop, from CAD, that I can find.

What I would really like to know is how to import a black & white BMP into Inventor and have it show as lines. :confused:

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I’ve done something like this in Inventor by creating a solid block to represent my workpiece, putting the image on the block as a texture, and then tracing the image in sketch mode. There may be a better way, but I don’t know what it is.

I need to preface this by warning that I’ve no experience ever in implementing this sort of process.

Might it be possible to first design your part in Inventor, including all of the relevant holes and critical dimensions – then exporting an image of the face of that part on a black background? You can also color the part to have significant contrast by making it white or something similar.

From there, you can load that image into an image editing software package such as Photoshop or, better, Illustrator/Fireworks/Freehand and add or overlay the noncritical design.