Box tube jig for CNC Router

Hey CD,

So we have a Velox 5050, and we’ve been struggling with finding a really secure and easy way of securing 2x1 and 1x1 box tube to the bed for cutting. What kind of clamps/tricks do you guys use for this?

This thread has considerable discussion of all things relating to CNC routers for FRC applications. Discussion of tubing jigs starts in post 1, and there’s a second discussion of it starting at post 415.

2 Likes

We have one of theOzzyboards TubeMagic fixtures– serves us quite well for what we do with tubing on our Omio. Highly recommended, and very little hassle to set up.

2 Likes

I have no experience with routers, but we are considering getting one and I’ve done some research. I’ve seen these two choices, among many.

https://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=3767&category=

(Sniped on the ozzyboards).

3 Likes

We own those vices as well, but hardly use them since we got the TubeMagic. It’s just a lot easier to set up the TubeMagic correctly when we’re rapidly switching between sheet and tube.

Why switch? Why not reserve a handful of inches to leave your tubing jig permanent set up on one side of our router?

We have an Omio. We lose too much space keeping the jig in to keep it there when we’re doing sheet parts.

X6 or X8?

I buy that with an X6 (losing 8" off of only a 14" wide cutting area would stink). But with the X8, you’d still have about 14" left of usable cutting width (as much as an X6 starts with!), and outside of bellypans (which no Omio model can cut), it’s relatively rare that FRC parts need to be wider than that.

Sure you may have to reduce the amount of parts you can get in a single sheet application, but I view that as a lesser issue than having to set-up and square a tubing jig each time. On the other hand, I favor tube construction in general, so YMMV.

X8. Sorry, we’re lazy. We’ll typically set it up so we batch our tube runs and then go back to sheet.