Brushed Linear Actuator Programming

Hello,
I am a member of a college team in a NASA robotics competition, wherein we use the FRC ecosystem.

I am trying to program my team’s linear actuators, however I just can’t seem to get them to work. I can tell my controller input is being read from print testing, but I can’t get the actuator to actually extend. I believe something to be wrong in my Dumping.java file, but truthfully I am not sure what it could possibly be. My best guess would be something to do with the SparkMaxAnalogSensor. It is also possible that it may be a wiring issue, but I believe a coding issue is more likely.

Below is the GitHub branch with my most up-to-date code. If anyone could possibly help me to spot what I may be doing wrong it would be greatly appreciated.

PLEASE NOTE I AM STILL ON THE 2023 VERSION OF WPILIB:

For clarity with the wiring, here is a photo of the wiring based on labeling on the Linear Actuator itself. I am very new to the FRC wiring so it is still possible I messed this simple thing up.

From a quick skim of the code, it looks like your RaiseDumpingActuator command is written incorrectly. Motors outputs should be continuously updated in the execute method, they can’t be “set and forget”. (I’m assuming whatever platform you’re using has motor safety features. I don’t know if spark maxes have it built in). You’ll likely just need to move the code from initialize() into execute()

Just gave this a shot, unfortunately it did not work. It did however, cause the print statement in Dumping.java to continually run, meaning it is reading the input, just not performing the action. I believe my linearUp() function in Dumping.java is likely what is incorrect. My guess would be where the motor speed is being set. Any ideas about this?

If it is at all helpful, here is the Linear Actuator being used: Feedback Linear Actuators | 12v or 24v | Firgelli

Off the top of my head: