Building a testing rig

Forgive me in advance for my limited knowledge. I am solid in the mechanics of our robot builds in the past, but I am still very new to the programming and electrical involved. I want to improve in this so that I can help my students more.
In years past, our programmers have had next to no time with a functional, complete robot. I wanted to give them the ability to test code in a real-world environment with the roboRio, full drive train, full electrical, the works except the robot. Also, I wanted it to be a more modular setup so that we could add pieces we might be customizing for each game. I know other teams have done this before, but I don’t know where to look for examples. Any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

I don’t have pictures, but we zip-tied or velcroed down a full control system to a piece of plywood. It’s enough to make motors spin.

FIRST essentially does the same with the field electronics in their office in Manchester, so their staff can troubleshoot issues being seen at events. And they do the whole thing, down to team number signs and the scoring table stack light.

The level of fidelity (sensors, subbing motors, etc) is down to your budget and gumption, though the more you stray the less useful it is to develop your robot rather than say “here new programmer, get started”.

2 Likes