Camera followiing

Hello CD!
In the downtime while waiting for the competition, our programming team is going to learn to program our cameras (because we’ll have to for the competition anyways). The most interesting project we could come up with
is to utilize a camera to get our robot to track and follow, for example, a person wearing a red shirt, or a specific coloured ball. I’ve been reading through the “Getting Started with the 2012 FRC Control System” PDF and the WPIlib documentation, and haven’t found much information on the topic. If anyone has any ideas, we would love to know about them! Thanks!
~Eric K

I’m not a programmer, so I can’t give you specifics, but teams have had to do just this in several recent games. For example, in Aim High we “had to” track a green light, and in Lunacy we “had to” track a trailer with either red-over-green cloth or green-over-red cloth.

I put “had to” in quotes because it wasn’t mandatory, but better teams could gain a lot from making it work.

So first look back in the archives, maybe something there will help more than the 2012 stuff.

The short version is:
Evaluate the image and find the color you are looking for
Then find the centroid of that color ‘blob’
If the centroid is not in the center, turn the (camera, robot) so that it is.

Good luck!

I didn’t work in C++, we worked in Java. But this is a very helpful thing to know how to do before the season starts, so good for you!

The last few years they have been using retro-reflective tape as the vision target, which I would hope they continue to do as that stuff is really amazing. You need a light source coming from the camera (Ring lights work well, AndyMark has them via FIRSTChoice, and they can be purchased from superbrightleds.com), and the camera needs to be calibrated (low exposure was the biggest help for us), but once it is, the object will stick out like a sore thumb.