Camera in Grayscale

How can I set my camera to output as a grayscale? I need to do this to reduce the bandwidth it uses for transmitting. if it makes a difference I am using a Microsoft LifeCam HD-3000

I’m not an expert, but how would this decrease bandwidth usage? You’re still sending the same information, except this time instead of a pixel being red it’s just black.

If you’re worried about bandwidth, I would look into capping the frames per second the camera transmits or the resolution. I know the Axis cameras had a configuration utility page that allowed this sort of customization.

If I’m not mistaken converting to grayscale reduces bandwidth because of the number of channels it transmits. With a standard rgb image, you have three channels per pixel. Each of these channels has value. For a grayscale image however you only have one channel. Now two extra channels on one pixel would not do much in terms of performance but once you have a few hundred extra it can especially when you try to get that image to send almost instantaneously .

You are absolutely right. Converting to grayscale would reduce the amount of data being sent over the network by a factor of 3 if you are sending raw data.

There are a number of ways to convert from rgb to grayscale, what language/computer vision library are you using?

The LabVIEW WPILib has a function to set the Color Enable Property. True means color is enabled. False means the camera is grayscale. But the property is only supported for Axis cameras. JPEGs have a special encoding for grayscale images, and they are indeed smaller than color, but it isn’t as simple as a threeX ratio.

As mentioned by others, there are other effective ways to reduce bandwidth. Image resolution reduces by X squared. Framerate by X.

Greg McKaskle