Can the VEX controller be programmed in assembly?

I want to use it like a demo board, to learn the chip and use LED’s in the 16 Analog / Digital I/O ports.

Besides modifying the programming dongle to program only the slave. And possibly program the master with an inert program, to disconnect the communication between the master and slave?

Does anybody know if it will work or have a suggestion

Thanks

It can be programmed in Assembly using MPLAB. MPLAB comes with the Assembler by default as part of the freeware package.

It’s pretty easy to isolate the master processor in code, so you can program the user processor fairly freely.
If you’re really thinking about a hardware bypass then it’d be simpler to just purchase a PIC of your own.

I am not sure where to start.

I have plenty of experience with Parallax 8 bit SX28 & 52’s, but I haven’t ever worked with “C” or Pic’s. So I bought Myke Predko’s “123 PIC Controller experiments for the evil genius” to help get me going over the Christmas break and a VEX controller to program with.

I know I need to start with EasyC, but after that I want to use a regular IDE like MPLAB & C18 to program with. The biggest problem I see is, what Loader program would I use and how does it know which chip it’s programming?

(I am planning on buying Myke Predko’s “Programming and Customizing the PIC Microcontroller” after Christmas. I would like to use the VEX robot to learn more Assembly using the Pic instead of the SX, but after the competition)

Thanks

Bill

Bill - Take a look here (https://jvex-robotics.dev.java.net/ToolChainSetup.html) - See if the utilities and explanations take care of (most of) your questions - Blake

Blake catches the toolset questions.

The latest IFI_Loader is what you’re looking for to download the code to Vex.
You don’t need to specify the PIC model to IFI_Loader though.