Does anyone know if it is posible to extend more than 4 ft during the endgame?
The robot is never allowed to extend more than 4 feet tall at any point of the match.
See:
The lack of any endgame-specific exception means this rule is still in place during endgame.
Nope, no exceptions for the last 20 seconds. 4 feet is the limit for the whole game.
G413 Expansion limits. A ROBOT may not expand beyond either of the following limits:
A. it’s height, as measured when it’s resting normally on a flat floor, may not exceed 4 ft. (~132
cm) or
B. it may not extend more than 1 ft. (~40 cm) from its FRAME PERIMETER.
(Note the error, 1 foot is 30.5 cm, not 40)
Look at the blue box below G413 for an example of how the height is measured if the robot is off the floor.
Got it. Thank U!!!
This is a little confusing for us. G413 does seem to indicate a hard height limit of 4’. BUT the intro video shows a robot essentially “dunking” a ring into the TRAP, whose is 4’8" off the floor of the field.
I guess the intro video is showing things that aren’t legal in the competition, and it’s up to us to figure out what’s technically disallowed?
Also, R105 says “ROBOT extension limit. ROBOTS may not extend more than 12 in. (~30 cm) beyond their FRAME PERIMETER.” It seems like that should be updated to indicate the height limit as well?
First has done this before where it shows something in the video that is not allowed per the rules. The rules are what is official not the video so need to make sure you follow those. The trap is going to be difficult while moving on the chain for sure…
Or the robot was already on the chain when it dunked.
The video also shows robots without bumpers, and that’s definitely not legal.
Upward height is inside your FRAME PERIMETER.
R105 is a Robot Rule. The corresponding Game Rule is G413. It clearly states both height and width extension limits.
Regarding the video, we don’t clearly see where the carpet is when that robot is scoring the TRAP. It might be suspended while it’s doing it. And even if it was over height, that’s not the first time a robot in a video violated the rules. Refs that work multiple events (and thus see the video enough times that they need to relieve their boredom) make a game out of finding fouls in the videos.
That’s funny - I guess the videos serve dual purposes then?
Thanks a ton for the quick responses on clarification, y’all. The support is really welcome and appreciated.
My question is fig 7-4 of G413. Pic B shows a robot reaching above it’s height. But since it does not give a robot height it does not specifically address if it can be on the floor and put a note in the trap. Thanks for any suggestions.
It actually does give a robot height–the yellow arrow indicates that the robot is <= 4’, but because it’s at an angle the vertical goes over 4’.
Also, note that assuming the “as if the robot were resting on a on a flat floor” is interpreted as in other recent years, this allows you to react against the CHAIN or other parts of the STAGE (or another ROBOT or possibly even a NOTE if you can manage that!) to get that angle. If you react against the carpet to achieve the angle by putting down a leg or actuating the wheel axle relative to the FRAME PERIMETER,you are considered resting on the floor. Note that you can react against the chain with a push or pull, but mostly only with a push against the rest of the STAGE because of G14.
How is G413B measured? Is it always measured in the horizontal direction relative to the ground or relative to the robot bumper? For example if a robot tipped over, will it be consider outside of 1 feet expansion?
Always relative to if your wheels are on the floor
Usually relative to wheels on carpet. The rule is “normally.” If you normally lay your robot on it’s side, especially for a strategic purpose, the referees should consider that the base has changed. If you just fell over due to a collision or sharp acceleration, and you can’t do anything other than try to right yourself, that would usually not considered “normal”. Of course, this year that’s far more likely to put your bumpers outside of the frame perimeter than result in a robot peak above 48 inches. Sticking down a leg that lifts some or all of your wheels off the carpet is another exception.
I know you have much more experience than me at this, but I believe if you intentionally change the orientation of your robot, that does not change the dimension of extension. Similar rules were used in 2018 for buddy climbs by intentionally falling over to get around the tight expansion limits that year. I could be wrong here and would be interested in learning if this has been called before.
The 2018 extension rule had a specific exception for the end game:
G05. Don’t overextend yourself. ROBOTS may not extend more than 16 in (41 cm). beyond their FRAME PERIMETER (see Figure 8-1). This rule doesn’t apply to a ROBOT fully within its PLATFORM ZONE during the ENDGAME.
There was also:
G17. Don’t climb on each other until the end. Unless during the ENDGAME, or attempting to right a fallen (i.e. tipped over) ALLIANCE partner, ROBOTS may neither fully nor partially strategically support the weight of partner ROBOTS.
Also, many years, a ROBOT which is climbing or otherwise supported by a field element or another ROBOT is not considered in a “normal” state for purposes of establishing a BUMPER ZONE.
Makes sense thanks
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.