This Q&A seems to outlaw a ROBOT whose upper extremities collapse into its lower ones for the purposes of going through the TUNNEL. I can’t see any good reason for the GDC to say this, nor a particular rule that such a ROBOT would break?
I was curious about that response, too. I have a sneaking suspicion that the GDC misunderstood the question that was being asked, because it wasn’t worded very clearly. Perhaps someone with their team’s Q&A access could ask that question again more clearly?
You’re about the third one to notice…
My interpretation is that 1) Jeff is right about the wording being unclear and 2) they’re asking about expanding the frame perimeter, which is illegal, not pulling a lift system down within the frame perimeter, which is legal.
My belief is that the GDC interpreted the question as extension and/or retraction in the length and width dimensions which is not allowed based on the definition of the NORMAL CONFIGURATION.
I see no rule that would prevent extension/retraction in the height dimension.
I think the answer was given as “no” because during the teleoperated period the robot is not allowed to go into any other section of the field besides were it starts.
Can you find a rule to support this hypothesis?
When answering rules questions here on Chief Delphi it is always best to cite and/or quote the rule or definition that led you to your conclusion.
…Really? Then why all the fuss about invertible robots and designing a “Shremech” as they used to be called on TV’s Robot Wars (Self-Righting Mechanism) to right a tipped robot that failed going over the BUMP?
I think you mean during autonomous period, where the robot can’t cross the middle line. In teleoperated, I’m pretty sure you can go wherever you want.
With one limitation - you can only have one of your alliances robot in the defensive zone at any given time.
Aha, that’d be what I was forgetting. Thanks.
<R10> During the MATCH, the ROBOT will assume one of two operating configurations. When in each configuration, the ROBOT shall fit within the limits of NORMAL CONFIGURATION or FINALE CONFIGURATION
I believe the definition of normal configuration is the reason for “NO”
NORMAL CONFIGURATION – The physical configuration and orientation of the ROBOT when the MATCH is started. This is the state of the ROBOT immediately before being enabled by the Field Management System, before the ROBOT takes any actions, deploys any mechanisms, or moves away from the starting location. **This configuration is static, and does not change during a single MATCH **(although it may change from MATCH to MATCH).
Thoughts? You start as a tall bot in auto. At end of auto you drive over, touch pole and shrink down to go through tunnel. At other end of tunnel you expand. Legal or not? I’m going to say yes as long as you never lose contact with tower parts. The amount of time you spend lowering and raising might not be worth it.
Seems somewhat plausible per <G30>
Starting small in zone 1 or 3 you can extend in zone 2 and cannot contract to go back under a tunnel.
<G30> ROBOT Volume – During a MATCH, no part of the ROBOT shall extend outside the vertical projection of the FRAME PERIMETER, except as follows:
c. TOWER Contact ROBOT Volume - During a MATCH, ROBOTS in contact with their ALLIANCE TOWER may extend beyond their NORMAL CONFIGURATION volume but may not exceed the FINALE CONFIGURATION maximum volume.
That rule prohibits extending outside the VERTICAL PROJECTION of the frame perimeter. In other words, if you extend the frame perimeter up towards the ceiling to make an open box, no part of the robot can extend beyond it. The only thing it says about height is that the robot cannot extend beyond 90 inches while in contact with the tower.
I think the GDC answer is based on the definition below:
NORMAL CONFIGURATION – The physical configuration and orientation of the ROBOT when the MATCH is started. This is the state of the ROBOT immediately before being enabled by the Field Management System, before the ROBOT takes any actions, deploys any mechanisms, or moves away
from the starting location. This configuration is static, and does not change during a single MATCH (although it may change from MATCH to MATCH). *
The robot may not change shape or orientation to go under the tunnel. It may deploy or retract mechanisms.
But look at the game animation, one of the robots folds down to go through the tunnel. At about 2:04 you’ll see it.
See 2:04 in the game animation.
The implications of this are very interesting. When a robot starts the match (definition of NORMAL CONFIGURATION) at in a specific configuration (LxWxH), it may not change that configuration until it enters FINALE CONFIGURATION.
This means that robots may not change size, even if it remains within the 28"x38"x60" dimensions.
Game animation does not equal rules.
That’s my take also, upon re-reading the rules, with the exception of deploying ‘mechanisms’ which must follow the sizing & time rules.
Game animations often take ‘liberties’ Also, in this animation, the eyes that ‘retract’ are mechanisms.
Rules & Updates trump the animations.