Chief Delphi Simulator 2018

Hey all,

As a fun project I decided to scrape a bunch of old Chief posts and throw them at a Markov chain to create a bunch of “fake” computer-generated CD posts. Currently, I have about 40,000 posts downloaded (~23 MB database). A small sampling of my results:

CAD modeling though, rather than animation Still good to have.

I believe belt failure was inevitable at some point it changed to a CIM-ple Box.

The other alternative is to put nearly everything on the list.

Lady starter kit.

The FREE VEX IQ Curriculum For ES/MS, but has a crank in the back of a pickup easily.

Was it to save space.

Director of FRC is using a detachable mechanism.

The Daleks, was the winner of a regional Rookie All Star, I have a lot of intrinsic knowledge of it?

Still on the fence.

Is talon firmware 1.4?

difficultOh, I also forgot to mention something.

XBox controllers, and hall effect encoders to put an egg plant up there..

Anyway, for anyone interested, you can find the source code here. It’s written in Ruby, I’m storing the text in an SQLite database, and I’m using MarkyMarkov to generate the sentences. Currently I’m using chains of depth 3 though I might play around with that as I get more data.

No gifs, highly disappointed.

I think we’ve finally found a suitable replacement for the third funniest person on CD. A non-sentient word analysis bot.

I recently (May-ish) downloaded all posts from CD for a project of my own. Feel free to reach out if you’d like the HTML as a tarball; it might shave a week or so off of your scraping.

I need to do this with Marshall’s slack messages. If we can get it to post gifs I think we can replace him entirely and avoid any more unfortunate PR incidents.

What are you talking about? EricH is sentient…

Wot, no sammich?