Clear, concise best practices for Sparkmax/Neo current limiting?

Since our school doesn’t have weekend robotics meetings anymore & the team is behind with our first event next week, I’m hosting students this weekend, and programming is the task at hand. I am not a programming mentor. Yep, still build season here for us.

I mentioned current limiting being important with brushless motors yesterday, and students implemented limits for each motor in code after tracking down how. However, after searching & reading a few posts this morning, I’m concerned we’re still not set up well. I overheard a programmer say our Neo drive motors are at 30A, for example, which sounds off…

Is there a clear, concise best practice I can point my team to? Other than end game, we have three modes:

• intaking: 4 Neo drive motors, 1 Neo intake motor, 1 775pro conveyor motor
  • drive to shooting location: 4 Neo drive motors, 1 Neo speed up wheel, 1 Neo shooting motor
  • shooting: 2 775pro conveyor motors, 1 Neo speed up wheel motor, and 1 Neo shooting motor set up to spin two opposing wheels to minimize spin. We should not usually be driving when actually shooting since our shooting spots are hub bumper and 1 robot length back from hub bumper, but it may rarely happen.

Thanks

Depends how many you have. Brownout occurs at anywhere from 150A to 300A total draw depending on battery health and wiring quality.

2 Likes

Thanks. At the end of my post, I shared what motors run during our primary operating modes, including 4 Neo drive motors.

I’m more concerned about comments that indicate peak current will exceed software limited current at times & cause problems and how to mitigate that. Maybe 30A is too safe for us or maybe it’s better for reliability despite the torque trade-off?

Also, is it better to limit current via software or via the client via USB as described here (thanks to CrimsonRobotics)? I did read something about making sure to burn the settings to flash if SW.