Hi everyone, I had a confusion with the game rules for climbing points.
If a system will grab the first horizontal tube of the pyramid, touching the ground (like if it was a hand). This robot is in the zone 0 and 1, or 0, 1 and 2.
Hi everyone, I had a confusion with the game rules for climbing points.
If a system will grab the first horizontal tube of the pyramid, touching the ground (like if it was a hand). This robot is in the zone 0 and 1, or 0, 1 and 2.
Please refer to the Game Manual.
Hola chile!
The robot is only in zone 0 and 1. It is in the air of zone 2, however, the air is not “making contact” with zone 2.
You may also want to check frc-qa.usfirst.org
But in the situation described, you would only be occupying zone 0 and 1.
They are a very good team, at this point, I think many people are looking to the manual and sometimes after 36 plus hours of working on robots you just have a hard time deciphering the manual. Sometimes its best to post on CD and make sure.
Per section 3.1.5.2 in the Game section, each level ends above the bar. Thus the 30" bar is in level 1.
The natural question from this, however, is what about the airspace for a claw that wraps around the top of a bar? Well, the rules state contact with the pyramid, not the presence of the robot inside a level. This was confirmed by a Q&A response last week:
https://frc-qa.usfirst.org/Question/13/figure-3-4-on-page-28-90-shows-level-2-just-above-the-horizontal-bar-since-the-rule-states-no-more-than-two-zones-why-is-it-or-is-it-permissible-to-hook-the-pipe-while-still-on-the-floor-and-if-so
Q. Figure 3-4 on page 28/90 shows Level 2 just above the horizontal bar. Since the rule states no more than two zones why is it (or is it) permissible to hook the pipe while still on the floor and if so how far into level 2 can you go? Does that include the side pipes?
A. The requirements in Section 3.1.5.2 A and B pertain to the ROBOT’S contact with the PYRAMID and/or floor within each Level, not the ROBOT’S presence in the physical space of the Level.