I’d like to open the discussion about the hanging rules.
My question is: If you are to attach to the 30" bar in such a way that your robot curls up above the horizontal plain to be completely in the Level 2 (20 points) but a small part of the “claw” attached to the 30" bar is thus below the horizontal plain; does this count as 20 points?
I guess the question becomes, how lenient are the rules, and where does this horizontal plain get extended from? The bottom of the metal tube? The top? The middle?
If your off the ground your considered level 1, 10 points.
If all of your robot completely above the the first bar, your in level 2 zone, for 20 points.
If all of your robot is completely above the second level your in level 3 zone, for 30 points.
If any of your robot is below the plane is question it seems your be in a lower zone from the rule book, so I believe you’ll have to attach to at least the 90 inch bar to be in zone 3. If you are attached to the second bar and curl over, your attachment mechanism will likely be considered in zone 2 therefore your robot.
Points are awarded for the highest Level achieved for every ALLIANCE ROBOT that CLIMBS its PYRAMID. The Level to which a ROBOT has CLIMBED is determined by the lowest point of the ROBOT (in relation to the FIELD).
As taken from Secton 3 - The Game
If your claw is still below the level, then the lowest part of your robot is the bottom of that claw. I think, as evidenced of the 210 End Game, it will be a straight above the plane or below the plane.
We have come to a stumble with the rule listed in section 22.214.171.124-B. It states that the robot can not be in any more than 2 sections at once. Assuming your robot is on the ground you are in zone 0, if you are going for the cross-bar above in zone 1 you will of course be in zone 1, and once you are above the post you may be in zone 3. The reason this is unknown is due to the small area above the cross-bar that remains to be in the zone, this length above the bar is not described in the rules making us question the legality of a mechanism that grabs or latches to one of these bars because you may cross the level with this system.
Seems like a fairly obvious strategy - hard to specify how you make it legal w/out opening up a lot of other issues. Related to it, if a part of the robot protrudes over into a third zone while hooking on - that would seem to make the entire climb illegal.
Other question would be do the level 1,2,3 plane protrude outside the pyramid as well? I’d assume so.
Also, would it mean that robots can be taller than 30"? Sure they need to be smaller than 30" to go under the pyramid, but if a robot were 40" tall and climbin outside, it would cross planes 0,1,2 at the same time, or planes 1,2 and 3 (i.e. a 35" high robot would cross the top two inches of plane 1, 30 inches on plane 2 and the bottom 3" of plane 3 at one point in it’s lift.
It would seem you would have to be allowed in 3 planes at once as long as they are contiguous, or am I missing something? It’s especially the case w/ a 54" robot or an 84" robot.
It appears so. You have to climb one step at a time. Considering that the floor is level 0, that means you must climb onto level 1 and be completely off the ground before heading into level 2, and then completely out of level 1 before you can enter level 3.