Clueless Newbies

We’re a new team out of Detroit (Motto: “You’ll win in the arena — but you’re meat in the parking lot!” :o ) which owes a big debt to IKE (Killer Bees) and Foley Freeze (John, Chris, etc).

I’ve got lots of questions — (maybe that’s because I program for a living.):

The rules say you bag the “bot” and you can bring up to 50 lbs to be installed at the games. My take has been that if your core “bot” is under 50 lbs you could bag the ballast and leave the core bot out. The other mentors on the team say “That’s cheating!” My argument is based on Contract Law — since they were so explicit on everything else why didn’t they say exactly what had to be bagged?

The 8 Hours Out Of Bag Time — does what come out have to go back in substantially unchanged? Or can we pull the “bot” and put the “ballast” in in place of the “bot”?

Please look at the definition of ROBOT in section 8 of the FRC Manual. Then look at the Michigan bagging rules again. I’m pretty sure it says you bag your ROBOT, not a miscellaneous collection of parts.

Thanks

Section 8 defines the Robot as

“ROBOT - A FIRST ROBOT is a remotely operated vehicle designed and built by a FIRST Robotic Competition team to perform specific tasks when competing in the 2009 competition “Lunacy.” The ROBOT must include all the basic systems required to be an active participant in the game – power, communications, control, mobility, and actuation. The ROBOT implementation must obviously follow a design approach intended to play the 2009 FRC game (e.g. a box of unassembled parts placed on the field, or a ROBOT designed to play a different game, would not satisfy this definition).”

The e.g. a box of unassembled parts placed on the field implies to me that “unassembled parts” to be assembled prior to play would be acceptable.

This has been addressed before, but here’s a quote from Dave Lavery: