cnc/cad/cam help

I am new to the whole CNC thing, having no experience with them other than I know how they work and kinda what they can do. I have mainly a computer back ground, some programming experience, as well as AUTOCAD and other CAD/CAM programs. My uncle runs a motorcycle shop, and has decided that its stupid to spend about $100k a year to oursource his CNC work so hes getting a CNC machine, dont know what model or when. But he wants me to figure out how to program the thing. I know you can use a CAD/CAM program to draw the part, and then translate that to G-code. This is the way we want to set this up. What programs can i draw the part in and export that to g-code? Do I have to set up the cnc machine to the computer to transfer the information? or can I output the drawing to G-code and then manually input it into the cnc control panel? is there an good reasources on the net to learn g-code? I have found a few g-code command lists, but nothing that gives any kind of details. Is the programs you use depend on the model of CNC machine? Whats most common? I know theres a lot of questions there, but I really have no idea, and web seaches usually only come back with schools offering training which I dont have the time or cash for. I appreciate any help I can get

I know that FeatureCAM can export through a serial cable to a CNC machine, and I’m pretty sure you can get from Inventor to FeatureCAM (and probably a lot of others), I just don’t know how. Usually, if you can’t export/import the right formats, you can get a plugin