Community based team, legality of taking students out of state, etc?

legality

Hi everyone,

I’m an engineer with FRC experience working with a few parents and their kids to research the feasibility of starting an FRC team. I know about the regional directors and senior mentors, and we have reached out to them, but I’d also like to hear from any teams who are similar in make up. The students are based in different schools, mix of public and private schools and in different districts, so they’re looking to form a community team outside of any particular school. They’re working on space and sponsors, and I’m not worried about that.

I am wondering how much of a hassle it is to have non-related adults working with minors and any resulting legal issues with that outside of a school entity. I presume we’ll need to pay for our own background checks and have to handle different permission slips for each school if the students are missing class for an event. What’s the best ways to work with the schools so they’re cooperative about that? I assume permission slips are usually handled by the school administration office? What do you do if you take students out of state for a competition? Is it fine so long as there’s at least one parent on the trip? What if it’s only not-related engineer-mentors traveling with the students? How do you handle the legality of working with minors when you are not related to any of them and you’re not under the cover of a school?

0 Likes

I’m no lawyer but I would assume that it’s mostly between you and the parents. The only time the school should get involved is if they’re missing school. In my opinion, as long as the parents give consent it’s fine but you might also have to deal with the school if they require it.

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer… but there are quite a few community-based teams. There are several routes you can go, including 4-H, or just having your own team.