Community Outreach

Hi,

My name is Daniel, and I am a member of a rookie FRC team in NYC. We finished competing in the regionals, and we received the Rookie Inspirational Award, and one team-generated award for the most amount of food donated. We are looking to enhance our team’s efficiency and effort for the following year. As a result, we decided to think about community outreach ideas, such as: showing off the robot to the public library, etc. Can anyone PLEASE suggest any outreach ideas?

Thank You!

There is a plethora of great documentation on CD and the FIRST website. But, my reccomendation would be for your team to get together and brainstorm, as you will know your community the best. This way you can come up with creative and unique ways to give back to the community.

I had an idea not too long ago- demo at WalMart!

Demo. Essentially, show off the robot to whoever wants to see it. Community fairs, sponsors, both current and potential, libraries, schools, or anything someone else needs help doing.

Community service. As a team, do some form of community service. 1501, for example, does highway cleanup, and there are others that do this also.

FLL/FTC/VEX. Start teams at this level. It’s not that hard… unless you count keeping about 10 middle-schoolers reasonably focused on a task. You just need to find/make interested students and parents. Now you have an extra outreach arm.

Turn fundraisers into outreach. For example, do a car wash where people have the option to relax outside their cars. The relaxation area would be near some of the awards that you’ve earned, which would be conversation starters…

Speaking of awards, try to get a place to display them… with team contact info very close by.