Competition Roles for Students

I’ve coached FRC for many years, but this is my first year with FTC. I’m the lead mentor for an all-8th-grade rookie team, none of whom have ever done robotics before, and I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do with them at our upcoming league event. I have 12 students total.

• 3 can be on the drive team
  • A few more can be in the pit
  • A few more can go around and look at/talk to other teams, but I’m concerned this won’t hold their interest for that long. There are only about a dozen teams scheduled to attend, and most of my students are pretty shy and “don’t know what they don’t know” too much to ask lots of in-depth questions
  • Do people scout at league events? There are only going to be about a dozen teams, we’re supposed to each get 6 matches, and there’s no playoffs or judging so I’m not sure how valuable scouting would be.

Matches don’t start until after lunch, so I’m a little worried it will be a long boring morning for a lot of them. I saw the similar topic from 2018 but didn’t see any helpful answers for our particular situation.

2 Likes

If nothing else, “scouting” with proper structure will probably benefit these new students by learning about all the other robots and ideas they compete with. So many teams struggle with locking themselves into a specific approach to strategic design and team structure, when there are so many more ideas they don’t even know to compare and contrast to. Encourage your students to do their research and compare between the morning “pit scouting” and afternoon “match scouting” which teams’ performance held up to their observations and expectations.

1 Like

Encourage students to speak with other teams. They can learn different ways of accomplishing the same goal, see new mechanisms and components, and – most importantly – perhaps make a few new friends.

Definitely. But they can’t talk to 11 teams (5 of whom are also rookies) for 7 hours…