Compressor Not Starting

Hello,

My name is Sukhjinder and I am a programmer for team 564. We recently tried to run a pneumatics board setup consisting of a compressor, spike, pressure switch, and a solenoid.

We code in Java, and I have thoroughly researched how to make a compressor object and start it even though it is the simplest of things.

I contruct a compressor object as follows:

Compressor comp = new Compressor(pressureSwitch, Spike Relay);

The two parameters represent the channel of the pressureSwitch and Relay.

In order to start the compressor, I just call comp.start();

Now assuming that the electrical components of the pneumatics are done correctly, this should run, am I correct? (And yes I am on the most recent updates and am getting communication)

I was looking at other constructors for the compressor object, and saw another constructor that required 4 parameters to be passed over.

The constructor would look like:

Compressor comp = new Compressor(pressureSwitchSlot, PressureSwitchChannel, RelaySlot, RelayChannel)

What I dont understand here is what the constructor means by “Slot”. What is the difference between slot and channel, since the Pressure switch and relay are only plugged into the digital sidecar?

To answer your last question first. Slot is where the card is in the cRIO. Slot 2 would be the digital slot if I recall correctly for the 4 slot cRio. It allows for you the deal with in the old chassis or the new one, 2 digital cards.

Your code looks right, the question is what part of the robot class are you putting it in?

Also, remember to enable the robot for it to start as well from the drivers station.

Randy

I am creating a constructor for my class in Java, and initializing the compressor in there. The comp.start() is called within robotInit(). We tested with an enabled robot.

Ex:

public class 564code extends IterativeRobot{

Compressor comp;

public 564code(){

comp= new Compressor(pressureSwitch, Relay);

}