Control testing

Hey everyone. I am new to creating robotic controls using sensors - the digital encoder. I was wondering if anyone knew how to obtain the number of counts that a digital encoder gives through one rotation of a motor shaft so that I can find the “distance per count” constant for our program. Also our encoder is a 4x if that has any play on anything.

Also I wish to use the encoder as a sensor for a PID loop to control the rotational angle of a shaft. Recently I had learned of motor control profiling and I was wondering if any one could explain how this works as well as how to program it. Much thanks!

PS: I’m using LabView and Java

The easy way to get distance per count is to:

• Add a readout of the raw encoder value (essentially set distance per count = 1)

• Layout a tape measure

• Push your robot slowly 5 or 10 feet (or if it’s an arm measure the rotation)

• Divide count readout by inches pushed to get distance per count in inches.

• Repeat to verify
    You can calculate the value by knowing:

• The number of counts per revolution of your specific encoder (all transistions for 4x)

• gear reduction through transmission starting at the encoder mount point (not necessarily matched to the motor shaft rotation)

• sprocket reduction between the output shaft and the wheel

• The wheel circumference
    *]Verify as before with a tape measure, readout, and pushing the robot a known distance

Thanks! I tried to test to see if we could just get feedback from the encoder and I noticed something odd: the rate of the Encoder Get was 0 even though I was reading a change in the distance output. What might be causing this?

The rate might be too slow to register, but it could be this known bug (there’s a solution at the very end).

Thanks! I wont be able to test the code till the 28 (Thanksgiving break…) but I think the off season update should solve the problem.