could any engineers help me out please?

Posted by Stephen Riley at 03/27/2001 9:05 AM EST

Engineer on team #419, RAMBOTS, from Wentworth Institute of Technology and sponsors? what are they?.

Hello, this post is off of the FIRST track but i was wanting and needing a little help. I am a college student at Wentworth and I am needing a little help in finding information on solid-staet relays, opto-couplers, and opto-isolators. Are they all the same thing but diferent names for it? what exactly do they do? or if you could direct me to any website or any database that i could find this information it would be greatly appreciated, this is for a design project that I have been given and my professor is not being all to helpful. Once again I thank you for your time and effort in reading this and for any help you may give.

Stephen Riley
Wentworth Institute of Technology
BELM

Posted by Kevin Sevcik at 03/27/2001 11:59 AM EST

Other on team #57, Leopards, from BT Washington and the High School for Engineering Professions and Exxon, Kellog Brown & Root, Powell Electrical.

In Reply to: could any engineers help me out please?
Posted by Stephen Riley on 03/27/2001 9:05 AM EST:

Here’s what 5 minutes of searching on Google got me. Not a lot, but probably about as much as you need. A little more searching convinced me that SSRs, opto-couplers, and opto-isolators are all the same thing.

Posted by Thomas A. Frank at 03/27/2001 1:39 PM EST

Engineer on team #121, The Islanders/Rhode Warrior, from Middletown (RI) High School and Naval Undersea Warfare Center.

In Reply to: No Engineer, but…
Posted by Kevin Sevcik on 03/27/2001 11:59 AM EST:

Hi;

Opto-couplers and opto-isolators are not necesarily the same thing, and SSR’s can be different still.