CPU at 100%

Hi everyone,
Im a programmer from team 1732 and i need a bit of help with our cRio. even without having anything running, our CPU usage is at 100% we tried taking out all of our vision tracking code to no avail. is there any team that has had and fixed this problem or know how to fix it. any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

If you want to zip and post your project we could help look for the problem.

A common cause is a While loop that doesn’t have a Wait inside to give the CPU time to breathe.

Another common problem is a typo in a device reference that gets called repeatedly. This is shown by error messages on the driver station diagnostics screen.

Try and see if there any devices that are programmed onto the bot but not in actual use (i.e. a solenoid or compressor.) For example, our bot’s cRio completely crashed during a match because we forgot to take out references to a solenoid that was not actually on the bot and so the cRio was maxing out it’s usage while trying to find it. Also, disable any safety configs that may be hooked up to devices in your code. Sometimes, an incorrect loop in Periodic Tasks can cause a cRio to max out.

Do you have pneumatics on the bot? Make sure in periodic tasks that your compressor code is not in it’s own while loop, I did this and had the same issue with max cpu usage and robot joystick response being choppy.
VI’s you are implementing that already have set refresh cycles with while loops can cause the cpu to hang if you put those VI’s in another while loop (like the cotrol loop for the compressor).

Unless it has been modified, the compressor loop has a 1000ms delay. If it ends immediately and you invoke it again in a loop, it will once again sleep that thread for 1000ms. This shouldn’t cause 100% CPU usage.