Creating a "delay" for a boolean value

Hey everyone, I am a programmer for team 3019 and have a quick question…

Here is the setup. Our kicker works like this. A cylinder pushes a kicker into its locked state, and a servo locks it into place. The cylinder then recedes. (this process is automatic)There is a limit switch to tell the program when it is in its locked state, which then tells it to activate the servo and pull in the cylinder. The problem is that as soon as the limit switch is activate, the cylinder recedes at the same time as the servo latches, and it does not latch fast enough.

So my question is, how can I create a delay for the cylinder, so the servo latches and after x amount of time the cylinder recedes?

The first thing I tried was creating a case structure right before solenoid fire. If the incoming boolean was false (the solenoid is going to retreat) I used a watchdog delay and feed (for the errors i used solenoid open to fire). This works, but it delays the entire robot, and I think logically it would constantly be delayed when the solenoid is not firing. Is there a better way to create this kind of delay?

the best way i have found to do this is in a flat sequence with two cases put a for loop the run amount for the loop is your delay then the second state returns to start over

The best solution for this would be to increment a value, and then check if is has reached a certain value. The idea behind it is that given a known period, you can approximate values by repeating that period a certain number of times, all while not having a program get hung up in a loop. You could achieve this by doing a simple if (value >= WhatIWant), do this, else value++ type thing. Or, you could do what I did and check the robot time, (A) because it automatically increments itself, and (B) because it is not dependent on processor time. I know this would be pretty straight forward in c++/java, and can only hope it is the same with labview. Hope this helps.