Cross hair for shooting

we dont really have the choice of programming the robot to line up a shot and so on with the reflective tape, we dont really have a great programmer there new to it. my question is is it possible to just program a cross hair on the camera where the balls land, would it be easier this way to code?

1 Like

Well for the driver station to accurately display where the balls will land, you need to know the distance they will travel. Usually this is done by using the vision targets, but if you don’t have that option, I don’t see a way to do this as described. After getting a feel with the robot though, drivers can kind of guess where the ball will go, but that’s not always super accurate.

1 Like

My memory is extremely spotty on this, but when I was a driver in 2012, I am pretty sure we had a crosshair on our camera feed. We also had vision targeting, but only for speed.

Edit: posting this to maybe help jog someone else’s memory/get a sanity check–I am not sure if we actually had that crosshair!!

1 Like

Yes but not how your thinking of it. To do that you need position, or distance and angle. If you can sense all of that accurately and know enough to transpose that via cross-hairs then your know enough to do any kind of vision. your best bet with no additional programming may be just a light that you can shine on the target for alignment.

1 Like

The simplest solution would probably be to pick one spot on the field, ideally next to a hard surface you can line up against. Then you can tune your shooter for that particular shot’s range and elevation. Then you can tape a piece of transparent film with a crosshair literally painted on over the driver station’s monitor roughly where the center of goal is when you’re in your spot.

It’s not a great solution but it involves minimal programming.

5 Likes

The “camera feed + sticky tape + pencil” method of adding crosshairs is tried and true, oddly enough.

You may also want to consider a flashlight.