Custom Frame

Any suggestions for improvement?

.125 5052 aluminum.

How heavy? Gear ratios? Looks pretty awesome! Nice job!

I am not an expert on the topic
but it seems you can quite a bit of pocketing on the side and front (instead of holes) to loose some weight.

It looks great! Only things I would add, and these are game pending, of course, are braces through the center of the bot to enhance frame stability. Either by making cross braces, or by adding braces from motor to motor, since the motors stick out and look like a good place to add reinforcements.

Like I said, of course, this is all game pending. The weight could be used elsewhere, or maybe the game won’t require extra reinforcements. Either way, great frame! :smiley:

Looks like a solid start. Your sheetmetal toughbox plates are a nice touch. What you might want to do is keep the gearbox plate thicker while making the rest out of .09" sheet. It will lessen the need to make lightening patterns.

Mecanum wheels don’t like a stiff frame, flexibility is good. They need all the wheels on the floor all the time, or they go off in strange directions.

How big are those mechcanums?

Quoted for great truthiness.

Mecanum wheels rely on the fact the wheels produce forces in differing directions. These add up to get the desired motion. If you have different weight on each wheel (as you would with a stiff frame on a non-flat surface) you will get drastically changing behavior. It is the same reason you want to ensure that your CG is as balanced as possible as well.

There should be ways of compensating for different loading on your wheels, probably even doing so dynamically by placing load cells above wheel pods but it is hard math for me*. I find it simpler to just let it be sloppy and loose and be careful with my CG.

*I’m sure Ether will come in here and show me an elegant way of doing this but to me it is hard math.

I would use c-channels for the frame, but still a great design! Simple and works.