Custom Pneumatics - Control Board Selection?

Hi,

If somebody could help me out, that’ll be great! I work as a researcher at school and my professor has asked me to put on an “electrical hat” for a certain project… problem is, it’s not my area of expertise and I see conflicting information.

I first looked at the FIRST pneumatic circuit for like comparisons; the problem is I see a discontinuity between the amount of Amps the compressor pulls (Thomas 405ADC?). It operates at 12 V-DC but pulls a current of 10.5 Amps. The IFI controller sais “The total combined current supplied from all 16 Analog and 18 Digital +5V Power header pins is 1 Amp. The 1 Amp max can come from a single +5V Power pin” or that it has a 7mA max… which is not near 10.5 Apms. Where is that current coming from then?

I’m looking to put on a 12 V-DC compressor that has 1.9-3.2 Amp current consumption. The board I’d like to use is PC-Gadget’s Gradget Master 2, but its current draw is less than 0.24 Amps continuous and everything has to have 50Ohm resistance.

Um… help?
Should I look for more powerful controllers or less powerful compressors/vaccums?

Essentially, I’m making a system of a compressor, storage cyclinder, Pressure regulator, pressure switch, solenoid, the bladder for the compressed air movement (inflatable sack), another solenoid, the vent valve, and a vaccum to suck air out of the sack. The projext to to make a bag that inflates & deflates at pre-controlled intervals.

Thanks,

erin

The compressor doesn’t pull it’s power from the control board. It pulls it from the 12V battery source through a spike relay.
The controller only serves to switch the spike on/off based on the pressure switch and actually stays out of the main current flow.

Try thinking of it as two separate circuits you are building: