I have a question about the last part of the game ,when deploying the minibot can the hostbot contact the tower directly , or should it send the robot from a distance??? if so what is the distant exactly ??
The Hostbot can make contact with the tower, but:
<G20> ROBOTS/HOSTBOTS may not contact their own TOWERS above the DEPLOYMENT LINE.
Violation: PENALTY for contact. TOWER is disabled if MINIBOT is DEPLOYED above the
DEPLOYMENT LINE.
You should be touching the tower. If you increase the distance you are to the pole you will make it harder to deploy, and there is no rule against touching the tower so why not be right up against it?
http://team2502.com/uploads/rules/3-Game.pdf
Manual. Use it.
Don’t use that version of the manual - it’s 6 revisions out of date!
The most current version of the manual can always be found here: http://www.usfirst.org/roboticsprograms/frc/content.aspx?id=452
Thanks.
Can the minibot touch the tower above the deployment line if it is still in contact with the hostbot? Meaning …the minibot would drop from a higher level and then start below the deployment line as the hostbot disconnects?::rtm:: Does this refer to in future tense Read the manual, considering I have Read the manual.
Actually, ::rtm:: refers to reading the Manual the right way.
The right way is to read the most current version, and read the Q&A to determine if your interpretation is correct.
In this case, No. The Minibot cannot break that deployment line while in contact with the Hostbot. See <G22>, as amended by Team Update #7.
Therefore, a radial angular descent, from a servo, while deploying the minibot would be acceptable as long as the minibot does not touch the tube… or are we to understand the tower implies the vertical plane of the base ? until the minibot is below the line? We need the gravitational force of a falling deployment arm to assist in engaging the minibot to the tower.
If the Minibot goes above the Deployment Line while the Hostbot is contacting the Minibot, the tower will be disabled. That is the rule. There is no “while the Hostbot is contacting the tower”.
If you need that gravitational force, you will need to be able to apply it–all of it–while the Minibot remains in the 18" between the Deployment Line and the Base of the Tower.
I think this is your question - You approach the tower from the side. Your minibot deployment mechanism forms an arc, from the hostbot to tower. This arc allows the mnibot to be above the 18" deployment line. Your minibot does not touch the tower until it is below the 18 line.
My perception is that this is legal. You cannot touch the tower above the 18" line. The rule does not say you cannot break the plane that is formed by the 18" line. If it did, the only deployment option would be a straight horizontal launch to the bar.
Chris, I think the Q&A disagrees with you.
An arcing deployment system is what we are trying to achieve.
Deployment has multiple explanations, based on the method. In our case it is a gravity induced arc that will engage the bot. The question is when does the deployment line become effective, before the minibot is attached to the post? Or after the minibot is attached to the post?
The tower consists of the post and the base. The deployment line is on the post.
Is the horizontal plane and the vertical plane of the deployment line and tower base a defined zone of no entry unless we are beneath the deployment line?
“I’ve got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals.”
Butch Cassidy
Please see the Q&A EricH posted above.
I get it . Yes, no!
According to the Q&A I linked and <G22>, if the Minibot crosses the deployment line while deployment is happening and while it’s still in contact with the Hostbot, the tower is disabled.
From the End Game rules:
Deployment only has one definition, as seen above.
So, to answer your questions in order:
-
When does the Deployment Line become effective, before or after the Minibot is attached to the post?
A: Before. It’s kind of hard to initially break the vertical projection of the base and be attached to the post at the same time. -
Is the volume defined by the vertical projection of the base and the plane at the same height as the deployment line a non-entry zone unless the minibot is below the line?
A: Yes. See the Q&A that I linked earlier.
The other question I’d have, that doesn’t seem to be answered anywhere, is: If a robot’s deployment mechanism requires the Minibot to go over the Deployment Line before Deployment (as defined in Section 1.6) begins, is this legal provided that when the Minibot enters the vertical projection of the base, it is entirely below the Deployment Line?
As written now: Appears legal (pending somebody asking Q&A).
As could easily happen: Appears illegal, depending on exactly how strict someone is at calling going over the Line.
A strict constructionist would say that the new wording of <G22> means that the MINIBOT can never be above the DEPLOYMENT LINE while in contact with the HOSTBOT - regardless of whether the MINIBOT is being DEPLOYED or not. In other words, you cannot store the MINIBOT on your HOSTBOT if any part of the MINIBOT is above 30" from the floor.
Someone will have to ask the GDC if this is the interpretation that they intended when this rule was revised.
G22 is under the 3.1.5 END GAME section, which begins:
<G18> All TELEOPERATED PERIOD rules apply, **except as modified **in this section.
Clearly, G22 applies to the end game period only.
If they need to clarify anything, it’s what will happen when a high carrying HOSTBOT fails to lower the MINIBOT before the END GAME begins.
I think Jack and Gary’s points both imply a need for more clarification from the GDC. On Jack’s point: What if a team stores their Minibot high (say on a ramp) and decides not to deploy it (and never comes near a tower once the END GAME commences)? Because as the rule is written now that would clearly be a violation. But I find it difficult to believe that this is the intention of the GDC.